

Patrick Morrisey Attorney General (304) 558-2021 Fax (304) 558-0140

March 5, 2021

The Honorable Tom Carper Chairman Environment and Public Works Committee United States Senate 513 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Ranking Member Environment and Public Works Committee United States Senate 172 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Janet Gaven McCabe to be Deputy Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency

Dear Chairman Carper and Senator Capito:

I write to you regarding your committee's consideration of President Biden's nomination of Janet Gaven McCabe to be Deputy Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. First, thank you for your leadership in conducting a thoughtful and informative hearing earlier this week that drove to the heart of the choice facing the Senate regarding this important nomination.

Ms. McCabe has twice been nominated for an important position at EPA, once by President Obama when the Senate was led by Senator Harry Reid, and again by President Obama when the Senate was led by Senator McConnell. In each case, the result was the same—her nomination was not confirmed and was returned to the President at the close of each Congress. These were the correct decisions. Her prior nominations were rightly not confirmed because Ms. McCabe was a key architect of the Clean Power Plan. For that same reason and many more, I am urging the Senate to once again not confirm Ms. McCabe.

The Clean Power Plan was fundamentally wrong on policy, wrong on process, and wrong on the law, which is why West Virginia led the 27-State coalition challenging it in court, where we obtained an extraordinary and unprecedented stay by the Supreme Court. It is critical for the

The Honorable Tom Carper The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Page 2

Senate to reject the Clean Power Plan by once again not confirming the nomination of Ms. McCabe to a key position at EPA. This isn't personal. It isn't about politics. There is a right and wrong path, and a bipartisan rejection of this nomination is one of the ways that we can steer the right course going forward rather than return to the mistakes of the past.

The Clean Power Plan's missteps were recognized by members of both parties inside and out of the Senate. Indeed, opposing the Clean Power Plan is one of the issues where Senator Joe Manchin and I have worked together, as he joined a brief supporting our litigation against the Clean Power Plan. We had red States and blue States join as well.

Unfortunately, Ms. McCabe and other architects of the Clean Power Plan succumbed to the allure of creating some jobs at the expense of many others, and that climate regulation can be used as a vehicle to achieve social and economic change as an end in and of itself. Otherwise, it is hard to understand why the Clean Power Plan tried to single-mindedly push America down the zero-emission path, even though that is the road to the destruction of not just West Virginia but the rest of the country as well—and even other natural resource rich countries around the world.

The reality is that climate change is not an economic opportunity. It should not become a tool to achieve radical change. Instead, climate change is a test. There is a right way to make decisions—through the rule of law and careful consideration of the many facets of this issue and its consequences for us all. The architects of the Clean Power Plan failed the test because they picked the wrong path, employed the wrong process, and flouted the law. We must do better. Because Ms. McCabe's nomination represents all of the failures and divisiveness of the Clean Power Plan, I respectfully and strongly urge your committee and the Senate to reject her third nomination to a key position at EPA.

Sincerely,

Patrick Morrisey

PATRICK MOMS

West Virginia Attorney General

cc: The Honorable Charles Schumer

Democratic Leader

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Republican Leader

The Honorable Benjamin Cardin

The Honorable Bernard Sanders

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Jeff Merkley

The Honorable Edward Markey

The Honorable Tammy Duckworth

The Honorable Debbie Stabenow

The Honorable Tom Carper The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Page 3

The Honorable Mark Kelly

The Honorable Alex Padilla

The Honorable James Inhofe

The Honorable Kevin Cramer

The Honorable Cynthia Lummis

The Honorable Richard Shelby

The Honorable John Boozman

The Honorable Roger Wicker

The Honorable Dan Sullivan

The Honorable Joni Ernst

The Honorable Lindsey Graham